Marvel Universe Preview: Squirrel Girl and S.H.I.E.L.D. Agents.

Where were you in 1992?

Did you know that Deadpool wears the Squirrel Girl underoo?

Can you imagine a more exciting day for Stu?

…………

…………

Yes, my dear Vs. System friends, that card is real. I am not imagining things. After four long years and 16 full expansion sets, she is finally here. Something squirrelly this way comes.

Her first appearance was actually called “The Coming of Squirrel Girl”, and she wiggled her bushy mythological tail into the face of humanity’s collective imagination 16 years ago, in the pages of Marvel Super-Heroes #8, in 1992.

Tree-rodent lovers went nuts.

The myth of Squirrel Girl is deeply delicious tongue-in-cheek hyperbole. She wins every time, against the most powerful villains ever. This hairy honey is mad famous. You can find fanboys arguing daily about who she can beat in a fight. Those links make me laugh out loud every time. Especially these lines:

Fanboy #1: Squirrel Girl is Marvel’s Batman. She beats people she shouldn’t be able to beat.

Fanboy #2: No, Squirrel Girl is Marvel’s Squirrel Girl. She beats everyone.

That’s my girl. And now she takes her rightful place on Vs. System cardboard forever. She is known, in panel, as the “Slayer Of All That Breathes.” Don’t believe me? Feast your eyes:

…………

Squirrel Girl trumps all, in the comic books. Now in Vs. System, she enlists S.H.I.E.L.D. army weenies with glee and then teaches them how to scamper back into your hand when neccesary. Like… in response to a big green Flame Trap! Just try to fry my guy, Mr. Hulk, Green Scar. A whole swarm of tree-rodents will be laughing last.

…………

My mind reels, running down the huge list of 1-cost army characters that are begging to be teamed-up with Squirrel Girl. Especially drool-inducing to me: Anti-Green Lanterns. Those sweet little pink lugs will be DEADLY in combination with Doreen Green. I could talk all night about more crossover possibilities, but what do Squirrel Girl’s own naturally affiliated army dudes do? Lock and load:

…………

…………

“Burn baby burn, Squirrel Girl Inferno!” Yes sir, those mammals have guns. They also have a S.H.I.E.L.D. strategy suite to complement their lack of ATK. If you haven’t seen the Nick Fury card, it makes the whole scheme into a 1-cost Army masterpiece.

I have been tap dancing in and out of the trees around my house for a week, mostly because neither of these cards are rare. With the announcement that Modern Age for the World Championships on June 27th will include the Marvel Universe booster set, I have also been going nuts trying to figure out the best way to play in Ohio with our fluffy little Doreen Green. Join me in the comments, and we will explore the wonders of Squirrel Girl even further.

24 Comments

Filed under Squirrel Girl, Vs. System

24 responses to “Marvel Universe Preview: Squirrel Girl and S.H.I.E.L.D. Agents.

  1. Okay, gang. Let me have it. How are we going to make this S.H.I.E.L.D. thing hum? We have been given some amazing tools, let’s build a rocketship to the stars!

  2. I am very happy for you, Stu. I could feel you crying– deep inside– when reviewing the Ponies. It’s the closest thing the set had to new Army goodness, but it was rare, and… let’s be honest… it kinda sucked.

    But these… wow. You don’t need to *pretend* these are good. They just… are.

  3. Okay, so you know how you asked whether or not you should auto-play Sea Creatures? I am glad I said for you to wait. Seriously, build a deck with Squirrel Girl and run away with that. I have had three versions of Deadpool for myself and only one of them is really worth building a deck around (which I have), but Squirrel Girl can definitely have a deck revolve around her. Personally, I really like the interaction between Squirrel Girl and the S.H.I.E.L.D. agents, so I would build something around that. With Nick, it sounds like a good deck.

  4. Thanks guys, you are both right on the money.

    Amazing cards, amazing set.

  5. wow, stu, TBS really loves you, hehehe.

    great cards, and great review ^_^

    you know that Nick Fury + Multiple Man + Fastball Special = win, right? :p

  6. Joe Corbett

    Great cards Rian!

    Can’t wait to see you bust some of this @ Worlds.

    btw do you have 2 extra sea creatures so I can make that mystique aquaman deck.

    love that deck & the article.

    But this squirrel girl she makes one accept happiness!!!!!

  7. My Tofu brother, I will check but I doubt that I have extra ponies. You are correct, that deck rocks.

    Accept the happiness, and never let it go.

  8. TK

    Very good card, and amazing character :D

    I’m getting crazy for this set, too.

    VS live in Italy!

    Sorry for my poor English. Bye!

  9. alec357

    Finally, it’s about time she showed up! I wonder if this means we’ll get the rest of the Great Lakes Initiative too?

  10. Squirrel Girl? Squirrel Girl! Squirrel Girrrrrrrrrrrrlllllllllllll!

    -fanboyexplosion*

    *this post was in no way authorized by coolexplosion and does not affiliate itself with aformentioned person or persons in any way.

  11. gdaybloke

    I gotta say, the powers that be are certainly choosing who to give certain previews to well ;) Gratz Stuby!

  12. One thing that hasn’t been mentioned yet…

    Reservist!

    This deck is going to be unlike anything we have ever seen.

  13. “Pi_3.14159…
    April 22, 2008 at 4:15 am
    Okay, so you know how you asked whether or not you should auto-play Sea Creatures? I am glad I said for you to wait. ”

    Why give up on Sea Creatures now? Can’t Nick Fury put them into play for free?!

    Turn 2 – Sea Creature
    Turn 3 – Fury and a Sea Creature
    Turn 4 – Aquaman and use Fury to put in 2 Sea Creatures!
    Turn 5 – Sea Creatures x5, then Nick Fury 2 more out.

    Or does Mr. Fury only count printed costs?

    Also, why is Fury a three drop? This totally nerf’s my using the new Poison Ivy to keep putting the Squirrel into play from the KO’d pile to get more soldiers onto the field! They gave us so many sweet possiblities by making her ability trigger when coming into play, rather than when recruited.

    I LOVE IT!

  14. Sean The Baldman

    WOW!

    Nice Preview. I love SHIELD…and its about time they got some vs love.

    Let the rejoicing begin!

  15. I don’t know for sure about the Fury Pony trick, and I cannot get to Realms from work.

    Somebody update me as soon as the ruling is posted? Thanks.

  16. Ponies only cost 1 less when recruiting, so Nick only gets you one.

  17. Thank you sir, I figured that would be it.

    I am working on Soshi’s League of Wood Rats deck instead!

    http://tekupgrade.wordpress.com/2008/04/22/crossing-the-aisle/

    That thing is right up my alley.

  18. soshikenpachi

    The only problem is one of handsize. I think Heroes of Two Worlds is integral, as it can get me a backup Doreen, and Nick, and remove the superfluous ones from the deck. After that, we just need to get as many cards in hand as possible. The question is, what will SHIELD get for tutors. Hmmm… More to look into.

  19. You can still use SRA for one Assassin per turn. It’s not much, but it’s something.

  20. soshikenpachi

    I’m taking this to the Realms.

    See you in the Strategy section.

  21. soshikenpachi

    Also, to be made known: I’ve taken your deck name and added a word to make it truly indicative of both the flavor and personal origin of the deck:

    The League of Extraordinary Wood Rats

  22. That is simply magnificent. I love it.

  23. S.H.I.E.L.D. is looking really good right now.

  24. Squirrel Girl, HELL YEAH. :D

Leave a Reply

