Same me, slightly updated.

eightieshippievan

That’s me with my mom and my beloved Aunt Donna, in 1987.  I actually drove that VW micro-bus around Miami for six years during the eighties.  Bill and I painted it, and then something magick happened.  It died mechanically and was sent to the junkyard.  Nearly two years later, I looked up to see a beige VW micro-bus driving down the street… with the painted nose and front doors of mine attached!  The dude had driven down from North Carolina, smashed into something, and replaced the whole front with a psychedelic upgrade.  He said he might even keep it like that.

Sometimes we look back and see a person so different from the person we have become, and sometimes we don’t.  I haven’t been clean shaven for at least twelve years, most of the hair on my head has disappeared on its own, but I am still the wild and crazy guy I was back then.

It’s just a different decade.

6 Comments

Filed under Rambles

6 responses to “Same me, slightly updated.

  1. Daemyann

    That’s a great picture and a greater story. 🙂

    Thanks for sharing it.

    You have to wonder what the odds of you being in the same place as, noticing, recognizing and being able to inspect the scoobiemobile version 2.0 were…

    Very cool.

    Also, I believe this picture may come back to haunt you the next time you deny being a hippie on Realms. 😉

  2. I often think about those odds, actually. I can still see the street in my mind, and I can still feel my neck snapping around while my eyes bugged out of their sockets. I banged a quick U-turn and chased the guy down, we talked at a red light, and then he was gone into the mists of history.

    Right place at the right time, gotta love it.

  3. A Frankenstein VFW bus! Very cool I must say.

  4. Did I really just call it a “VFW” bus. What am I on? Well it does look sort of patriotic.

  5. Hilarious Freudian slip for the win!!!

  6. What a great story! How incredible that you saw parts of your bus still living on!

Leave a Reply

