Russian Spiderman… and Sentinels?

spidey

Big ups to Seventh Soldier for turning us on to some amazing Russian folk art.  The fact that it depicts a few of our favorite superstars in the modern mythological pop culture stew is gravy.

Spiderman gropes!

The robot scene, however, is a mystery.  Could it be the shiny purple Sentinels that warm the cockles of my heart?  A boy can dream…

sentinels

Hit that Russian madness and see if you can figure out who the legends are.  Then run back here to the blog and translate for me.  I will award my final copy of Parallax to the first person with a full list.  Thanks.

13 Comments

Filed under The Interwebs Rock!, Tiny Treasure Hunts

13 responses to “Russian Spiderman… and Sentinels?

  1. 1.)
    2.) Terminator 2: Judgement Day
    3.) The Matrix
    4.) Lord Of The Rings
    5.)
    6.) Spider-Man
    7.) Star Wars/Empire Strikes Back
    8.) Harry Potter
    9.) Swordfish
    10.) Trainspotting
    11.)
    12.) Anaconda
    13.) War of The Worlds

    I honestly can’t figure out the other three, the first one just reminds me of the bear from Radiohead’s ‘Kid A’ adverts.

  2. Trainspotting? Are you serious? That’s just crazy. I love it!

  3. soshikenpachi

    11.) Farenheit 451

    I’m 100% on that one. The other two missing ones I’d almost say 1 is King Kong, and 5 is a ploy to throw us off.

  4. Ahh…forgot they made a film of Fahrenheit 451.

    No. 1, I would have expected something to show the scale of King Kong, instead of what looks like a carrot, which has led to me try and think of any movies where kids have turned into a bear or somesuch.

    No. 5, could always be some crazy Russian film we’ve never seen. 😉

  5. Okay, No.1 is Brother Bear, by Disney.

  6. The original source is here: http://hiero.ru/Akuaku/Lubki

    If you feed that to Babelfish, you’ll get some further hints. “Анаконда” gets translated as “Anaconda”, obviously—but “Пластилин овец” (which seems to be Lord of the Rings) gets translated as “Plasticine of the Sheep”.

  7. Oh man, we need a card of that.

    Plasticine of the Sheep for the win!

  8. Apparently, the crocodile one is ‘Sabantuy’. So I’m just going to go with ‘Crocodile Dundee’, thereby completing my list. 😀

    (Also, I figured Trainspotting due to the drinking and drugs involved, and the fact that one of the characters, Begbie, had an impressive moustache.)

  9. TXC

    And here’s the completed list, 1 and 5 are both an obscure Russian TV show (links attached):

    1.) Cheburashka and Crocodile Gena (http://profile.myspace.com/index.cfm?fuseaction=vids.individual&VideoID=1523236) Watch for a bit and the man in the bear suit appears, and he’s really small.
    2.) Terminator 2: Judgement Day
    3.) The Matrix
    4.) Lord Of The Rings
    5.) Cheburashka and Crocodile Gena (http://www.truveo.com/Cheburashka-and-Crocodile-Gena/id/3841919538)
    6.) Spider-Man
    7.) Star Wars/Empire Strikes Back
    8.) Harry Potter
    9.) Swordfish
    10.) Trainspotting
    11.) Farenheit 451
    12.) Anaconda
    13.) War of The Worlds

  10. Work won’t let me view such a “malicious” website. I so wanted to play. Oh well. It seems incredible from what I have read.

  11. I just found your site. That’s really cool stuff!

  12. I suppose we should ask who wins the card? 😛

    I did get a large number of the films, but I would personally say TXC deserves it for finding out about that obscure Russian show.

  13. Yeah, I think Terminexchet gets the Parallax. But you will receive the Runner Up Surprise Pack.

    And… I just changed the links to properly credit the artist. The list may be off now, and we have three more to find!!!

Leave a Reply

