I am an oxymoron.

crowd

I don’t have as much time for this as I would like, we have a talent show at school today and I was assigned the duty of “Crowd Control”.  Yes, it actually says that on the memo, with the capital letters.  I will do my best.

I am an oxymoron.  I have always known it, and now I have external validation.  One of my most dedicated haters on the message boards honored me with this last night:

“You are a fascist hippie, or an oxymoron.”

First, a word about my haters.  For the four years I have been peacocking around on the forums, I have built quite a following.  I guess my charisma attracts them like mosquitos to a bug zapper.  Here is my favorite quote about the situation, from Mike Gunderloy himself.

“You have fans, cash customers – even a few enemies! (than which few things are more flattering.)”

That quote is almost 20 years old, and I have been an oxymoron since those heady days of the zine revolution.  My favorite?

Moral Judgement is Wrong.  That is one of the Proven Beliefs that I live by.

Lately I am just Obsessively Satisfied, especially when my dedicated haters flatter me to no end. 

That’s all the time I have right now to talk about it, I am off to do some serious Crowd Control at the talent show.  Leave some comments and we will discuss the flattery of haters and the bliss of being an oxymoron when I get back.

5 Comments

Filed under Rambles

5 responses to “I am an oxymoron.

  1. Crowd control. Sounds like fun. Did they give you a helmet, a clear plastic shield, and a billy club? You could turn yourself into a superhero with that kind of gear.

    As for haters, and being oxy-moronical, it’s all good. Being hated means your doing something people disagree with, most of the time it means you’re doing something smart, so keep it up.

  2. gdaybloke

    I don’t know that I have any haters… I’m pretty sure I attract a lot of people who look at me and think “Who??” though.

  3. soshikenpachi

    *sigh* I think Sir Winston Churchill said it best. A few reminders, if I may:

    On Haters: Criticism may not be agreeable, but it is necessary. It fulfils the same function as pain in the human body. It calls attention to an unhealthy state of things.

    On Meta: In war as in life, it is often necessary when some cherished scheme has failed, to take up the best alternative open, and if so, it is folly not to work for it with all your might.

    On The Inability to Accept someone else’s viewpoint: Men occasionally stumble over the truth, but most of them pick themselves up and hurry off as if nothing had happened.

    On Creating an environ that espouses haters: No crime is so great as daring to excel.

    on Jank: No idea is so outlandish that it should not be considered with a searching but at the same time a steady eye.

    On Haters draging you down: Success consists of going from failure to failure without loss of enthusiasm.

    On Enemies: You have enemies? Good. That means you’ve stood up for something, sometime in your life.

  4. Thanks, everyone. I have never actually been bothered too much by the haters. The level of their criticism is so laughable that they are easy to dismiss as the cost of fame. Whenever there is a valid complaint, I learn from it. Having a responsive audience is never a bad thing, even when some of them throw tomatoes!

Leave a Reply

