Academy Award for Best Original Song: A Freaking Miracle.

onceagain  once

If you have not seen the film Once, you are in for a treat.  Marketa Irglova and Glen Hansard won an Oscar for the song “Falling Slowly” tonight, and I am still pinching myself to wake up.  It was an underdog victory of epic proportions, and their speeches were transcendant.  Very exciting times, these two are independant as it gets.  They were truly overjoyed in accepting the award for struggling artists everywhere.  Mad props to ABC and John Stewart for allowing Marketa to get her time to speak after the previous commercial break had cut her off.  It was one of the greatest moments in Oscar history.

Marketa Irglova: 

Hi everyone.

I just want to thank you so much.

This is such a big deal, not only for us, but for all other independent musicians and artists that spend most of their time struggling.

This – the fact that we’re standing here tonight, the fact that we’re able to hold this – it’s just to prove, no matter how far out your dreams are, it’s possible.

Fair play to those who dare to dream and don’t give up.

This song was written from a perspective of hope. 

Hope, at the end of the day, connects us all.  No matter how different we are.

Glen Hansard:

This is amazing. What are we doing here? This is mad.

We made this film two years ago; we shot on two Handycams.   It took us three weeks to make; we made it for a hundred grand.

We never thought we would come into a room like this and be in front of you people.   It’s been an amazing thing.

Thanks for taking this film seriously, all of you – it means a lot to us.   Thanks to the Academy, thanks to all the people who’ve helped us – they know who they are, we don’t need to say them.

This is amazing.  Make art, make art, make art!

(Photographs from Fox Searchlight, you can also hear the song there, although it is best if you hear it for the first time when you watch the film.  Enjoy.)

9 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

9 responses to “Academy Award for Best Original Song: A Freaking Miracle.

  1. Oh my god how freaking awesome is that!?!! One of my favorite movies of the past year, and the soundtrack is truly amazing! I didn’t watch any of the Oscars, Now I wish I had. Truly excellent and Glen Hansard is one of the greatest song writers i’ve heard in ages.

  2. Not only did you miss the best speeches ever, but they performed the song on stage too.

    They absolutely nailed it. I am getting goosebumps again…

  3. soshikenpachi

    Damn it. now I have to go to blockbuster and rent that movie.

  4. Totally on youtube! http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nLJobVC7uR4

    Oh, that was so worth it! Now I need to find the speeches…

  5. Totally going to replay that twelve times straight now, thanks!

  6. The speeches are up too, you kind of have to strain to hear them though.

    I’m so glad for these guys. How totally awesome.

  7. jetman07

    When they played the song on stage it was the first time I had heard it and it was great. I am glad they won. I definitely must see this movie now.

  8. I’ve heard of that movie and that it was really good (thanks to a cool e-newsletter called VSL), but I haven’t see it. When I was watching the Oscars on Sunday I was voting for that song to win, and, w00t, it did! I definitely want to see it.

  9. It was a very moving speech — and it was cool of Stewart to bring her back on too. I’d never heard of the film or song before, but I enjoyed the performance very much.

Leave a Reply

