Movie Magick: Angelina Jolie as Squirrel Girl, Hellboy Daddy does The Hobbit.

That’s Angelina Jolie, as a member of the Fraternity of Assassins, in this summer’s Wanted. It opens on June 27th, smack dab in the middle of the greatest single season in cinema history. Since our beloved Squirrel Girl is now an assassin herself (click here for an explanation), I plan on calling that sizzling Tattooed Woman “Doreen”.

And, the BIG NEWS. Guillermo Del Toro, the genius behind the film versions of Hellboy, has moved to New Zealand to begin filming on The Hobbit. After the amazing work he has done with Liz Sherman, I predict some seriously awe-inspiring action in The Shire.

It’s a great time to be alive, meet me in the comments and we will gush about the upcoming crop of movie magick.

7 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

7 responses to “Movie Magick: Angelina Jolie as Squirrel Girl, Hellboy Daddy does The Hobbit.

  1. Let’s make lists.

    Most anticipated 2008 Summer Films, in order:

    1. Hellboy 2.

    2. Wanted.

    3. Heath Ledger’s Joker.

    4. Iron Man.

    5. Sex and the City.

    6. The Incredible Hulk.

    7. The Happening.

    8. Hancock.

    9. Narnia 2.

    10. Brideshead Revisited.

  2. Brideshead Revisited? Seriously? (*shrugs*) Fair enough 😉

    I’m with you on the bulk of the list though, especially Iron Man. Whoo!

  3. Yep, we are big Emma Thompson fans. And anything that has the tagline “Love is not ours to control” gets my nine bucks.

    I can’t believe how long and strong that list is. It’s gonna be the best cinema summer ever.

  4. Korinthe

    Stu’s got a BLOG! Woot!

    Or rather, “Rian’s got a BLOG! Woot!”

    Oh yes, and Squirrel Girl totally ROCKS! In fact, I need to trade a metric ton of my (extreme abundance of) pre-Marvel Legends cards to now acquire all the wicked cards that have come out since I’ve had to (significantly) slow down!

    I agree with your assessment of Hellboy 2 (looks utterly awesome).

    I also think Iron Man looks to be one of, if not THE best Marvel movie to date! I was quite skeptical, but every preview, every little clip has made that film look BETTER…an unusual development, to say the least.

    The Dark Knight will be insane, and I mean that in a good way. Heath Ledger’s performance looks simply amazing. He isn’t just crazy, he is every type of crazy at once. He seems to slip from manic, to schitzo, to psychotic, to sociopathic, to depressed, all in the course of a few lines. It’s like he is the physical embodiment of all that can go wrong with the human psyche. He lives from moment to moment, yet plans things out with seemingly great detail, simultaneously. That is no small feat. It should be an amazing final performance for that young man to go out with.

  5. Angelina Jolie’s an awesome actress. 😀

  6. I_Avian

    I cannot begin to express how much I really really can’t wait to see Hellboy 2. Guillermo Del Toro is a master of the cinematic art (Anyone who hasn’t seen The Devil’s Backbone and Pan’s Labyrinth should do so. Right now. Absolute Magic.)

  7. Scott S

    The one film that will get me away from my new HDTV and into the theater will be “The Dark Knight.” I loved “Batman Begins” and can’t wait to see Ledger’s version of the Joker. I hope this franchise thrives, as I’d like to see who ends up playing Catwoman. Maybe Angelina?

Leave a Reply

