Are We There Yet?

It’s the last day of Crime Lords Month.  It’s been seven months straight for this blog, non-stop documenting the verities of my existence.  It’s time to take stock.

I don’t think we ever really “get there”.  Even on the days we win the trophy, or preview the Squirrel Girl, or hear the final bell at the end of the last day of school…

It starts all over again. 

We carry the parenthesis around in our heads.  We select certain sections.  We choose a portion of the immeasurable thing called life, and we glorify it.  It feels good.  It gives us a reason to carry on.  It shapes the self.

When all seems lost, when I cannot get a handle on the endless demands of modern life, I make myself into a legend.  I realize that no character in the history of mankind has ever lived a life exactly like THIS.  I remember certain times and places in my life when it seemed like I had “arrived”.  I revisit the sensation of accomplishment and satisfaction I had whenever I reached a certain pinnacle, and I stand on the mountaintop again right where I am sitting here now.  Returning to the scene of a great triumph in the past always makes me feel better about the present and gets me fired up for the future.

Whether we ever get there or not.

 

1 Comment

Filed under Rambles

One response to “Are We There Yet?

  1. I just googled “verities of existence” to find out why that phrase was in my head. I found a sweet random blog post, from Serbia in 2007, under another entry with pictures of… baby squirrels! Seriously, baby squirrels.

    This is what it said:

    Look to this day,
    For it is life,
    The very life of life.
    In its brief course lie all
    The realities and verities of existence,
    The bliss of growth,
    The splendor of action,
    The glory of power.

    For yesterday is but a dream,
    And tomorrow is only a vision,
    But today, well lived,
    Makes every yesterday a dream of happiness
    And every tomorrow a vision of hope.

    Look well, therefore, to this day.
    – Sanskrit Proverb

    There is no “Do-Over” button in life, but you can hit the “re-set” button as many times a day as you need.

    I heard a man once say “I have never had a bad day, just bad moments, and sometimes alot of them in one day. But all in all, if I wake up to a sunrise and go to bed breathing air into my lungs, feeling my heart beating, all in all, it’s been a good day.”

    Enjoy your moments, your day, and your weather, however each may be.

    Live life……on life’s terms.

Leave a Reply

