Big-time Update: Life is Good.

Hello my friends.  I hope life is treating you well, because she is dancing for me.  Some amazing new things I have to share.   Hang on tight.

My one and only sister got married Saturday, to a former Michigan Wolverine football player.  He has mad stories about Bo Schembechler, and he makes my sister really happy.  A very welcome addition to our family, especially since the rehearsal dinner was conducted on a local wooden roller coaster with all the kids!

 

One of my former students made the biggest of big-time splashes in the art world.  Stephen Bauman now sports a New York Gallery and a feature in Art Collector magazine.  He is also selling every painting he finishes for thousands of dollars.  Huge pride swells in me.  Steve is the most talented artist I have ever known, and the three years he spent in my class were the best of times.  He really deserves this.

This is what Steve looked like (on the right) when he graduated from my high school program, before he got his scholarship to Italy:

And now, my new job!  I taught last summer at the most wonderful old-school Elementary.  It sits a mere two miles from my house.  It is Heaven on Earth.  When I lost my job officially at the alternative high school that I had spent the last 12 years of my career, the phone started ringing.  I went to three interviews and was offered all three positions.  The morning I was about to make my decision, I decided to call Greynolds Park just to make sure that my dream gig was not available before I committed to another school.   My dreams came true.  The one school in the whole world that I would choose above all others had a new opening.  They remembered me from the previous summer, and hired me on the spot.  I am typing from my office, smack dab in the middle of paradise.  Thanks to everyone who sent me prayers and good vibes.  We did it!

Those are two windows into my new world, taken last summer.  Stay tuned during the upcoming year for some spectacular kid’s stuff.  My life is floating through the clouds with a dream job, and it is good.

10 Comments

Filed under Art I live with., Rambles

10 responses to “Big-time Update: Life is Good.

  1. Does this mean we get you back now? The trolls are getting bored and have begun eating each other.

  2. If you are talking Realms trolls, then you are still out-o-gas. The school filters block everything game related.

    I will check in from a friend’s house whenever I can, the summer interweb rehab in our house is still on.

    Good luck with that!

  3. Yay for life sorting itself out! It’ll be good to have our favourite happy-go-lucky Stu back again 🙂

  4. OSM

    Hearing the good stories, stories like these, compose the kind of stuff that can keep a man going.

    This is phenomenal news and congrats and can’t wait to see the old stu posting again, even if it won’t be as frequently.

  5. Glad to hear you’re doing swimmingly, happy to be doing something that brings you nothing but joy. 🙂

  6. Glad to hear you’re reaching new peaks after the recent dip. Can’t wait til we start getting your perspective on things again around the blogosphere!

  7. Yay! I’m so glad things are going well. I miss you at TTs, but know what it means to be super busy.

    ((hug))

  8. Congratulations on the new, dream job. Good things come to good people. Glad I stopped by to visit. It’s been a while.

  9. Hey! Great to hear about Steve and about your new job. Best of luck. C

  10. Daisy

    reading “the alchemist.” Thinking of you 🙂

Leave a Reply

