Hello, have you heard Goodbye?

Sometimes I cry for joy, hearing an old song that touches my heart.  It happened just now.

I was toying around on www.pandora.com and I created a Sundays radio station.  The first song?  This one:

“Goodbye” by The Sundays

I vow that it’s goodbye and God bless.
Why did we have to assume we’re exactly the same?
Oh no, talking about yourself.

I could never be seen
falling down on my knees crawling.
Oh no, talk about a sell.

I vow that it’s goodbye to the old ways.
Those stories were a good read,
they were dumb as well.

As the heavens shudder baby,
I belong to you.
They said you get what you deserve and all they said was true.

So is this what it’s come to?
Am I cold or just a little bit warm?

Oh well.
Give me an easy life and a peaceful death.

I was astounded when I googled those lyrics.  The song fills me with hope and bliss when I hear it, kindling fond memories of a heart bursting with real deep love.   The lyrics are rather bitter and tortured, yet the incomparable voice of Harriet Wheeler melts my soul every time.

Art is a curious thing.  The audience brings such sublime subjectivity to the activity.  No matter what a musician, or a painter, or a writer puts out there – it always carries the potential for triggering transcendence.  Quite often it makes me cry for joy.  It happened just now.  Listen to The Sundays and see if it happens for you.

1 Comment

Filed under Rambles

One response to “Hello, have you heard Goodbye?

  1. andrew hynes

    its a bit surreal the way art is timeless the sundays were so indie nobody knew who they were yet they endure timelessly and as a 44 yr old welshman who first heard them in the 80s …………………..wish I knew harriet now or ever

Leave a Reply

