Zinco Epilogue: Kroenen is Back! (Spoiler from Hellboy 2 DVD.)

hellboyfike

I have been bountifully blessed in my life, and one of the most satisfying connections ever made is between me and Hellboy. That screenshot is from an article I wrote on the mothership. Yes, I had the ultimate privilege of introducing the world to the Vs. System cardboard incarnation of Karl Ruprecht Kroenen.

51wwhmsnrdl__ss500_

The Essential Hellboy Collection remains the single greatest trading card game achievement in all of human history, in my humble opinion. It is increasingly rare, yet still can be found in a few places. If you have forgotten the guts of the thing, the entire interactive card list is available on Universe.

frogcombo

That is the combination I am dreaming of since The Leapfrog has been revealed, and the Zinco Epilogue gives strong hints about the potential return of Kroenen to the multiplex.

Before we get to that, I have one bit of advice. Watch Hellboy 2 with the Brightness on your TV turned all the way up. There is so much more detail in the costumes and sets that emerges if you can see it all. Honestly, the film is 144% better with maximum Brightness.

Slight spoiler to follow…

Hellboy 2: The Golden Army can be purchased in a Collector’s Edition that includes the alternate ending that never got filmed, in animated comic form. It rocks Karl Ruprecht Kroenen back to life, yes it does.

I, for one, hope that this signals a return of our favorite clockwork villain in the third film.

When I surfed around to find out more about this development, I found a sweet home for the inside dope on the evolving Hellboy mythos.  And I deeply dug the blurb detailing the villain star of the Zinco Epilogue.

Roderick Zinco is a billionaire who joined a secret society, THE WOTANIC CIRCLE, in order to gain access to the equipment that brought Hellboy into the world, equipment that promises a limitless source of energy.  Zinco’s journey to Hell through the picture is the classic cautionary horror story of “be careful what you wish for.”  He is the canvas upon which Rasputin’s evil is traced.

Wow. To be the “canvas upon which Rasputin’s evil is traced”.  Nice work if you can get it. Sounds about like the evil I plan to unleash with my Plague of Leapfrogs deck.  Care to help me trace?

5 Comments

Filed under Comic Books, Vs. System

5 responses to “Zinco Epilogue: Kroenen is Back! (Spoiler from Hellboy 2 DVD.)

  1. Okay, here’s what I got so far.

    20 Damn Nazis
    4 Ape X
    4 Ratcatcher
    4 Karl Ruprecht Kroenen

    4 Vicarious Living
    4 Plague of Frogs
    4 Last Laugh

    4 The Leapfrog

    Help me out. We obv need some Runaways and a team-up, but what else would work well here?

  2. Shadowtrooper over at http://www.vsuniverse.com suggested Last Stand. I like it.

    He also mentioned Victor Mancha, but I am hoping Runaways get a one-drop for Vicarious Living.

    Onward!

  3. OSM

    I like the addition of Victor, personally. With army guys, I’d like to think burning them would be advantageous.

    This is golden age, right? How about Enemy?

    Birthing Chamber

    Could you find a viable reason to want to mill yourself?

    Catcher’s Mitt

    Replacement effects when your opponent has no deck = hawt

    more to come.

  4. I can see it, the Plague will be huge and the breakthrough could be serious.

    Enemy works well if it is not Random Punks.

    Birthing Chamber heard. Mind Gem is the other way to get massive card advantage.

    Don’t know about the Mitt, since the win condition prolly evades everybody except Ratcatcher.

    Can’t wait for more!

  5. Anonymous

    we want kroenen we want kroenen!!!

Leave a Reply

