Upper Deck loses Yu-Gi-Oh.

bucket

This is a massive development for those of us who spend vast amounts of time grooving on trading card games.

Konami has snatched Yu-Gi-Oh back from Upper Deck.

EL SEGUNDO, Calif., Dec. 12 /PRNewswire/ — Konami Digital Entertainment,Inc. (KDE) today announced that the company is taking over all operational and business aspects of the worldwide phenomenon, Yu-Gi-Oh! TRADING CARD GAME, effective immediately. KDE will take over distribution and customer support for the Yu-Gi-Oh! TRADING CARD GAME from Upper Deck Entertainment, KDE’s former exclusive distributor of the trading card game.

That is major, major news. It portends a whole lotta shaking in the industry. We shall see how it all settles out.

In the meantime, Kung Fu Cat!

cat

7 Comments

Filed under Vs. System

7 responses to “Upper Deck loses Yu-Gi-Oh.

  1. You need a ‘Kick’ card which can only be used in conjunction with the above ‘Bucket’ card. 😉

    I was never a YGO player myself, but it’s still sad news for UDE that they’ve lost this, obviously Konami have realised just how much *more* money they can make from it.

  2. Indeed. I have never even looked at the rules. Never watched anyone play. Just reaped the benefits of the wild sales phenomenon, as a tiny bit of the profits trickled into our world of cardboard superheroes.

    Mostly I worry for my friends. Quite a few of them made their living from writing about the game and organizing Yu-Gi-Oh tournaments.

    My prayers go in their direction today.

  3. Hopefully Konami won’t decide to completely ‘start afresh’ as it were. Without the backbone of the people who love the game, the game’s likely to flounder, so a wise decision would be to transfer over as many of the people who’ve made the game what it is today.

    And on a complete side-note; as I’m not sure when I’ll be online over the next few weeks, Merry Christmas to yourself and your family Rian, I hope you have a good one. 🙂

  4. Reciprocal holiday wishes, my friend.

    Stay happy and healthy.

  5. Thomas Gibson

    I want that Kung-Fu Cat for my Normal Beatdown deck 😀

  6. Rob Stupid

    Holy cow, this is big news. Like Merrill Lynch big news.

  7. I don’t know what to say to this… 🙂

Leave a comment